5G and Beyond

Softwarization in Communication Systems

Organizer and Chair:

Ivan Seskar, Rutgers University, USA

Scope of the Papers

Software plays an increasingly larger role in communication systems and, with the latest deployment trends of software based solutions, has a potential to transform the whole telecommunication industry chain. The emergence of software-defined radio (SDR), software-defined networking (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV) has led to a new class of distributed, cloud-based communication systems that are entirely based on software. The dynamism of resulting multi-layer communication systems architectures introduces new challenges in maintaining performance and quality of service, and requires novel ideas for performance evaluation and network management. his special session aims to bring together researchers and practitioners from software-defined ecosystems to identify and discuss practical and theoretical challenges. We solicit the submission of position papers criticizing and/or describing existing or proposed solutions, experimentation and deployment experience papers (including lessons learned), preliminary work papers including new ideas and early results (i.e. work-in-progress), and demo and poster papers.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Analysis of SDR, SDN and/or NFV systems
  • Software defined radio access network design
  • Software defined edge/core network design
  • Transport (backhaul, midhaul and fronthaul)
  • D2D communications
  • Mobile edge computing
  • NFV/SDN implementation
  • QoS in cloud-based networks
  • Network slicing, deployment and optimization
  • Resource-aware virtualization and infrastructure as a service
  • End-to-end performance optimization
  • Trials and test cases
  • Testbeds and experimental infrastructure implementation
  • New test technologies
  • Management of software-defined systems

Submission Guidelines

Full Papers: Full paper submissions of original work (not previously published, or under review at another conference or journal) must not be longer than five pages and will be published in the conference proceedings. Best papers will be fast tracked to Computer Networks (Elsevier) and Ad Hoc Networks (Elsevier) Journals.

Short Papers and Extended Abstracts: Submissions must not be longer than two pages. They should convince the reader that the author(s) would give an exciting presentation and stimulate lively discussion (will be published in the conference proceedings). Note that it is fully expected that extended abstract papers accepted for the session will eventually be extended as full papers suitable for formal academic publication and presentation at other conferences/publications.

Poster and/or Demo Abstracts: One page summary describing the poster/demonstration including the list of necessary equipment (for demos) that will be published in the conference proceedings.

Submissions are now accepted through EDAS: [Start a new submission here]

At least one author of each accepted paper/poster/demo must register for the conference and present the paper. Authors are encouraged to use the IEEE Manuscript Templates for Conference Proceedings format for either Latex or Microsoft Word. All full paper submissions will undergo a full TPC review process while all extended abstract and poster/demo submissions will undergo a light review process that will give a greater weight to papers that lend themselves to interactive discussions among workshop attendees.

Important Dates

   Paper submission deadline:   April 28, 2019
   Notification of acceptance:     May 15, 2019
   Camera-ready papers due:    May 22, 2019

Technical Program Committee Members

Name Affiliation
Danijela Cabric UCLA, USA
Daniel Denkovski UKIM, North Macedonia
Carolina Fortuna Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
Haris Gacanin Nokia Bell Labs, Belgium
Ada Gavrilovska Habl Georgia Tech, USA
Maicon Kist Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Alberto Leon Garcia University of Toronto, Canada
Milos Manic Virginia Commonwealth University, USA
Ingrid Moerman University of Ghent/imec, Belgium
Valentin Rakovic UKIM, North Macedonia
Ivan Seskar Rutgers University, USA
Jordi Perez-Romero UPC, Spain
Milorad Tosic University of Nis, Serbia
Dejan Vukobratovic University of Novi Sad, Serbia

Contact Us

You are visitor:

since November 10, 2016.